Connie Diekman, MEd, RD, LD, FADA

Ms. Diekman is a past president of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly the American Dietetic Association) and past chair of the American Heart Association - Missouri affiliate. Prior to her appointment as director of University Nutrition at Washington University, she was in private practice and an instructor at St. Louis' Fontbonne University. She is a former television nutrition reporter with St. Louis' NBC and FOX affiliates. Ms. Diekman has received numerous honors, including the Alumni Distinguished Service Award from Fontbonne College, the Outstanding Dietitian of the Year Award from the Missouri Dietetic Association, the Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year - Missouri, and the Dr. Arthur Strauss Award from the American Heart Association - St. Louis.

Willarda V. Edwards, MD, MBA

Dr. Edwards is a past president of the National Medical Association. Currently, she is a delegate to the American Medical Association from Maryland and a past chair of the American Medical Association Women Physicians Congress. She also served as president of the Maryland State Medical Society 2004-2005 and as the national director of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People's (NAACP) Health Advocacy Division until 2004. Additionally, Dr. Edwards was assistant dean of student and faculty development at her alma mater, the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

Judith Flores, MD, FAAP

Dr. Flores is a representative of the National Hispanic Medical Association and a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics' Adolescent Health Partnership Project Advisory Committee. She is Associate Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, New York University School of Medicine, and Medical Director of Ambulatory Care, Woodhull Medical and Mental Health Services. Dr. Flores has been involved in the development and implementation of chronic disease management programs that address diabetes and family weight management. She also has a longstanding commitment to mentoring college students, medical students, residents and young professionals through faculty hospital appointments and through independent organizations such as the National Hispanic Medical Association and the National Urban Fellowship.

Joanne P. Ikeda, MA, RD

Joanne Ikeda is a nationally recognized expert on pediatric obesity and the dietary practices of ethnic and immigrant populations. She is currently President of the Society for Nutrition Education & Behavior and has served in numerous leadership roles including president of the California Dietetic Association; chair of the Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics’ Nutrition Education for the Public Practice Group; and chair of the pediatric subunit of the Weight Management Practice Group. She is the recipient of the Community Awareness Award from the National Association to Advance Fat Acceptance (NAAFA) and in 2008, NAAFA gave Ikeda its highest honor for her efforts towards ending size discrimination. Ms. Ikeda is Nutritionist Emeritus for the University of California, Berkeley and currently serves as Nutrition Consultant for the Cartoon Network, Turner Broadcasting; and as a nutrition expert for “ABC News” and NAAFA.

Robert Murray, MD

Dr. Murray is the chair of the American Academy of Pediatrics Council on School Health. He spent his career as a professor in the Department of Pediatrics of the Ohio State University School of Medicine, located at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. In 2006, he became the director of the Center for Healthy Weight and Nutrition. Currently, Dr. Murray is a member of the Department of Human Nutrition at the Ohio State University and serves as a national expert on projects involving pediatric nutrition and childhood obesity.

Ray Scalettar, MD, DSc

 Dr. Scalettar is the former chair of the Board of Trustees for the American Medical Association. He is a clinical professor of medicine at George Washington University Medical Center, a Master of the American College of Rheumatology and a Fellow of the American College of Physicians. He has been a senior consultant to The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, public relations firms, PHARMA, IFIC, DISCUS and many others. He has received numerous prestigious awards for service to his profession and the public. He has made many media appearances on health policy issues nationally and locally. He recently completed his tenure on a National Institute of Health Advisory Committee. He was also a founder of a professional liability company which has evolved into a national publicly traded organization.


Robert H. Eckel, MD

Dr. Eckel is a past president of both the American Heart Association and the Obesity Society. He also was recently a member of the Scientific Advisory Council of the National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Diseases at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). His NIH-funded research has focused on the broad area of preventive cardiology in the areas of the pathogenesis and treatment of lipid disorders and obesity. Dr. Eckel is the Charles A Boettcher II Endowed Chair in Atherosclerosis, Professor of Medicine with appointments in the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes and the Division of Cardiology, and Professor of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. He is also Director of the Lipid Clinic at the University of Colorado Hospital.

Michael Fleming, MD, FAAFP

Dr. Fleming is a past president of the American Academy of Family Physicians. He brings more than 29 years of medical field experience to his position as Chief Medical Officer at Amedisys. He is also the past-president of the Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians, and was founding President of the Louisiana Health Care Quality Forum, a partnership with the State of Louisiana aiming to provide high-quality health care to the state. Dr. Fleming has served as Speaker of the Congress of Delegates of the AAFP and as Board Chair of the AAFP Board of Directors. He continues as founding chair of FamMedPAC, the AAFP’s political action committee.

James O. Hill, PhD

Dr. Hill is a past president of the American Society for Nutrition and The Obesity Society. He is Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Anschutz Medical Campus. He was also a member of the Expert Panel on Obesity of the National Institutes of Health that developed the first U.S. guidelines for the treatment and prevention of obesity. Dr. Hill has published more than 350 scientific articles and book chapters in the area of obesity. He also is co-founder of America on the Move, a national weight gain prevention initiative that aims to inspire Americans to make small changes in how much they eat and how much they move to prevent weight gain.

Julie McMillin, RD

Julie McMillin is director of health and wellness at Hy-Vee Inc.  In this role, she oversees more than189 in-store dietitians and the numerous programs and services they provide to all Hy-Vee customers, employees and the communities.  Julie was a pioneer of the Hy-Vee dietitians program and started as one of Hy-Vee’s first in-store dietitians. She focuses on how the retail setting can help individuals live an easier, healthier, happier life while also showing a positive ROI for Hy-Vee.  She worked in various clinical settings for five years before joining Hy-Vee in March 2005.

Robin Plotkin, RD, LD

Ms. Plotkin is a mommy blogger who launched her culinary and nutrition communications business in 2003. She combines her food and nutrition expertise with sales, marketing and public relations experience. Ms. Plotkin’s professional awards and honors include Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year from the Texas Dietetic Association and the 2006-07 Outstanding Media Award from the Dallas Dietetic Association.